RSS

Mystical Waterfall

25 Apr
Mitre Peak Waterfall

Waterfall at Milford Sound, New Zealand

Waterfalls are always delightful to see. This is one of my favourite waterfall photos. Milford Sound – a must-go destination in New Zealand. This is another composition of a similar picture posted earlier.

Does this scene looks like it was taken in a cave? Not quite. It was taken in broad daylight with bright sunshine in winter. Always experimenting, I switched the setting to Night Landscape and this was the result. Ghostly and mystical that’s what I hope it conveys. For comparison, pictures in its bright natural colors are in this posting – Waterfalls Galore at Milford Sound, New Zealand.

One of fun things I learn in photography – while it is good to know some of the rules, rules are meant to be broken! Have fun shooting!

 
10 Comments

Posted by on April 25, 2012 in New Zealand, photography, Travel

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “Mystical Waterfall

  1. Michael Glover

    April 26, 2012 at 10:37 am

    I always love a great waterfall pic! New Zealand is on my bucket list of places to travel to!

     
    • hasayang

      April 26, 2012 at 6:22 pm

      Hi Michael. I hope you get to travel to New Zealand. Simply breathtaking scenery and exactly Middle Earth!

       
  2. prideinphotos

    April 26, 2012 at 10:21 pm

    Thank you so much for visiting my blog today! You have some VERY gorgeous images on your blog!! Great job!

     
    • hasayang

      April 26, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      Thank you. Love your pictures. Happy shooting!

       
  3. Any Lucky Penny

    May 17, 2012 at 3:50 am

    New Zealand is such a beautiful place! My uncle is from New Zealand, I hope when I visit his city one day I can take nice pictures 🙂

     
    • hasayang

      May 17, 2012 at 1:26 pm

      There is no such thing as “not nice” pictures when taken in New Zealand. 😉 Hope you get to visit your family there. New Zealand really is “Middle Earth”.

       
      • Any Lucky Penny

        May 18, 2012 at 12:24 am

        I can imagine, I love Middle Earth! I read that they have a tour of the Lord of the Rings set where they filmed where the Hobbits lived in the Shire I really want to go there! Have you been?

         
        • hasayang

          May 18, 2012 at 9:11 pm

          There are several Lord of the Ring tours both in North and South Island. The one showing the location spots for the Shire is somewhere in North Island I believe. I didn’t go for that one. Instead I joined a Dart Safari tour in Queenstown, South Island where they showed us some of the mountain landscapes filmed. There is a signboard in Glenorchy that shows “Paradise”. Very appropriate, I think. 🙂

           
          • Any Lucky Penny

            May 19, 2012 at 2:02 am

            Wow! I want to do that tour too! I want to see everything from Lord of the Rings! They finished up The Hobbit there too. I want to hop on a plane this weekend and go 🙂 maybe next summer?!

             
            • hasayang

              May 19, 2012 at 9:53 am

              I am looking forward to seeing the Hobbit this december. Never been there during summer, where usually there are a crowd of people. Hope to return there soon. 🙂

               

Leave a comment