RSS

Orange Orchid-like Flowers

05 Aug

Getting back to the flora and fauna theme today.

These pictures were taken about a month ago after the rain. Wish I can identity their names. They look like wild orchids. These plants were planted along the Park Connector Network (PCN) at the Sengkang estates (between the Punggol Promenade heading to Lorong Halus Wetland and Hougang Punggol Park).

There are plenty of other ornamental plants and flowers along the way. There are also batches of pandan leaves. Smell their fragrance while you are there. Intoxicating after the rain. Fresh and aromatic.

Meanwhile, I will try to consolidate all the posts about Lorong Halus Wetland, Punggol PCN, Sengkang Riverside Park and Punggol into its own section so it will be easier to navigate around. Hope you find them useful.

Have a great and fun weekend!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 5, 2011 in photography, postaday2011

 

Tags: , , , , ,

One response to “Orange Orchid-like Flowers

  1. Shivani

    May 29, 2014 at 11:03 pm

    I think I saw this flower too in Singapore Botanical gardens. Took a picture of this fascinating flower which reminded me too of an Orchid as u have correctly mentioned. Today however I happened to come across ur blog because I was searching for a clue for another flower which is tiny, fragrant and incidentally also orange in color. Very very different from this flower though. But since u’ve asked for an identity of ur flower which u happened to see I felt like sharing my find with you. This one of yours is commonly known as Leopard lily/ Blackberry lily. Scientific name Belamcanda chinesis …resembling an orchid it sure is delightful red/ purple speckled orange flowers.
    I see that this post has been there for quite some time now and I guess by now you might be knowing the name too. Even then I am taking pleasure in sharing…
    Hope soon enough I find the ID of my flower too. If u can check my post titled ‘ Unknown’ u can see those flowers.

     

Leave a Reply

 
